top of page

Half Way Through: "The Hate U Give"


As you may know from the "What I'm Reading" column, I am reading the book "The Hate U Give". As of now, I am somewhere near the middle of the novel, and so I thought that I could share my opinion with you so far!

From what I have read, this book has exceeded my expectations. It deals with a serious situation, but the author really does a good job of not making it too stereotypical. She really digs deep into the main character's experience and thoughts and pushes away from what most people would expect. I also think that the personal life of the main character, Starr, is really interesting. She lives in a poor black neighborhood, but goes to a rich white private school. The added conflict of managing 2 different lives really makes the story interesting, as well.

I obviously won't spoil too much, but I think that so far, I definitely recommend this book to teens, but not so much adults. I don't really think they would find it interesting, since it is in a teen's perspective. But I think for anyone in later middle school years and any high school years would really enjoy reading this.

Sorry for the short blog post this week, but make sure to come back every Tuesday for more book recommendations, reviews, and opinions like this! See you next week (hopefully)!

-TheBookWorm

Featured Post
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page