top of page

Your SPOOKIEST Idea!


Happy Halloween! I love the fall season, and I really wanted to give a fun SPOOKY-tastic challenge to you guys! I love writing short stories, and Halloween is chock-full of inspiration! I think that writers like Edgar Allen Poe and Stephen King are incredible and wrote AWESOME scary stories! So I'm challenging all of you to a writing challenge - write a SPOOKY short story! If you need some inspiration, look up "Halloween" and take a look at the pictures or costumes and write your spooky scary heart out! I'll give you all some prompts below for some ideas, but feel free to make up your own idea! I will post all of the awesome stories that you guys create on November 10th. I will leave more details below, so make sure to read that before entering and if you have any questions you can message me with your entry. Happy Halloween!

 

Here's my SPOOKY short story! Enjoy!

The black-as-night crow shrieked as the roaring wind rustled the crackling leaves. The stormy night grasped the hinges of the creaky wood door, forcing it open against its will. Perched on a hill, the ancient masonry masterpiece loomed over the village, sending whispers to the young schoolchildren, and chills down their backs. A witch or warlock, a ghost or goblin, the rumored villainous creature fed on the fear and flesh of the daring, stealing their sorry souls as the walked up the windy stone path. The rusted metal gate was always shut, only opening for a Halloween Night's welcome. Every shriek, every crackle, every creak leaving fear's servants sleeping with one eye open. As the midnight bird sang its song of the dark, Halloween Night said it's last goodbye.

 

Here are some prompts to help you get in the Halloween spirit!

“Crikey, he’s alive!”

“Umm… mom? There’s something in the closet…”

“As the witch cackled, the evil being rose out of the boiling cauldron.”

“As I walked down the wallpapered hallway, I had a strange feeling I was being watched…”

“I stared in horror at the vicious vampire bite I had received a few hours earlier.”

“The smell of blood lingered through the apartment as she left with the murder .”

And last but definitely not least...

“AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!”

 

Here are the challenge rules!

Send in your stories through the contact form on the About page.

Make sure to include the prompt used (if you used one), your name, your email, and whether you want your story and name to be shown on the blog post.

There will be no winner! it's just for fun :)

The challenge will end on November 10th at 3:00 PM EST.

 

So now that you have a little background, get SPOOKY and create an awesome story! I'm so excited to see what you guys create! Have a happy Halloween and I will see you next week!

-TheBookWorm

Featured Post
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page