top of page

Blind Date with a BOOK!

Hello fellow readers! This week I wanted to share with you a really fun idea that I have seen around, but I was lucky enough to recently come across in real life! On my trip to Mystic, Connecticut, I went to a bookstore with my family and we shopped around. I came across a section of books that are wrapped in brown paper, and I was a little confused. They had writing on them that consisted of a genre and a short description. I looked above the display and found a sign that said “Blind Date with a Book!” I soon realized that each of these books were meant to be a surprise for after you bought them! You could pick the description and the genre that sounded most interesting to you, check out, and open your surprise book! It was a really great way to get people excited about reading, so I had to try it out! The decision was hard, but I ended up choosing “Historical Fiction” with a description of “Southern Gothic with ghost at the dawn of photography.” I forgot to take a picture what it looks like before I ripped it open because I was too excited (silly me), but I saved the paper, so here's a picture!

When I opened my blind date, I was graced with the presence of The Spirit Photographer by Jon Michael Varese! I have never heard of this book, but it seems incredibly interesting! I really enjoy books about ghosts, as you may have known for my review of Fingerprints and Phantoms, so I am stoked to read this! Here is a picture of the cover and the back, so you can read the description. It seems so cool!

As you may know, I have a bunch of books that are already on my radar, so this one may take a while for me to read. I'm still reading The Girl With Seven Names because of a lack of reading time recently, but I will definitely keep you guys updated on when I finish that and continue down my reading list! Thanks for reading this and I hope you found this idea really interesting! Tell me what you think in the comments below and which genre and description would make you want to pick up a blind date! See you next week!

-TheBookWorm

Featured Post
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page